Education for a better chance in a paid Dept,

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Education for a better chance in a paid Dept,

Well, I would just like to say up front that I am very new to this website and I love the idea of a nation wide firefighting forum, anyways..

As of now I'm 19 and still in high school which is not very enjoyable. I've been a firefighter since I was 16 (and I mean the day after my birth day :] ). Now that my senior year is nearing it's end I will pursue my life long dream to be in the service. It's not that simple though, and here's why.
    I was born in Poland and when I was just about 12 my mom decided that her along with her two sons (one of which being myself) would join my father in the US which have been his home for 3 years. So there I was growing up in a new country with only a work visa under my dad keeping me as a legal resident. It's now been 9 years that I've been waiting for my green card and according to our lawyer along with the up-to-date visa bulletin, I should be a green card holder withing the next 4-5 months tops. That being just about the time that I'll be out of highschool.
    I have already set up an appointment with the Marine recruiter for tomorrow to talk about some details. But I'm mostly interested in the GI Bill which will hopefully get me through college. Now the question is what is the most Fire Dept related major that the higher ups might enjoy looking at when applying to a paid town. Besides fire science which is only a short class and probably going to end up on my schedule anyway.

I also have another question for those familiar with the rules and regulations.