New to fire --- need help!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to fire --- need help!

Hey, my names is Michael, I'm new to all this stuff and the site. I'm only 23 but throughout the years iv worked in BS factories and low end jobs to make a buck. Iv always wanted to be a fireman but for some reason, never chased it. Ever. till now. I got rid of my factory job (Step2, I'll NEVER buy from them after working there) And now all i wanna do is fight fire. I reside around Cleveland, OH but they only hire about once every decade so I'm done for them. Although i wouldn't say no to a small town job or suburb, but i want the action, not the sleep. Basically what I'm asking is, what would be your guy's first steps or pieces of advice for me? What kinda training and studying could i be doing BEFORE the academy? i have yet to decide where to get my certification, would love to stay in Ohio, But would definitely move to achieve my goals...Once the moneys saved for school, I'm gone for somewhere, i would just love to figure it out now lol I wanna succeed! Succeed with glowing numbers and results, Any help guys?

Unfortunately jobs like you're describing are becoming fewer and fewer, the fire service is now mostly geared towards EMS and medical stuff. This is due to better fire resistant building materials, sprinklers, and there being no financial benefit in fighting fire. Therefore most fire departments do a lot of EMS stuff where they can bill insurances and make money and so on. Anyways if i were you I'd start by going to EMT school or get your 240hour firefighter certificate to see if you like it. There are plenty of good schools and a community college that offers great classes in northeast ohio.
    Last edited by Rdoggvf722; 01-06-2011, 03:21 PM.

Comment

Hey bud check out these found within this thread section:

http://www.firehouse.com/forums/showthread.php?t=118267

http://fire.ci.columbus.oh.us/misc%20htmls/becoming.htm