Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Transfer from the uk

Hi brothers,
    I am an 11 year firefighter from London and am desperately looking at transfer to the states.
    I am willing to go where ever to get in but preferable Boston area etc.
    Was wondering if u guys knew if it was possible to transfer! I do have USAR, Mass Decon, EDBA, Arial and FRU qualifications!
    I am still young at 30 , so need to get this moving if any one has any feedback or help this would be great!

Hutchy

Firstly, what is your US employment eligibility? Without the right to live and work in the US you're going to find coming here to work near impossible.
    Secondly, Most fire departments in Mass use a civil service test to hire Firefighters. This test is given every couple of years. Preference is give to candidates based on residency and US military service. If you're applying out of state without military service you're just wasting your time and money.

Comment

Originally posted by HUTCHY View Post
      Hi brothers,
      I am an 11 year firefighter from London and am desperately looking at transfer to the states.
      I am willing to go where ever to get in but preferable Boston area etc.
      Was wondering if u guys knew if it was possible to transfer! I do have USAR, Mass Decon, EDBA, Arial and FRU qualifications!
      I am still young at 30 , so need to get this moving if any one has any feedback or help this would be great!

Hutchy
      Not going to happen. You have to be a citizen of the United States, If you want to be a Boston Jake, you have to live in Boston to apply and abide by the rules.

No transfers!!!

Comment

Originally posted by HUTCHY View Post
        but preferable Boston area etc.
        Not a sports fan, huh?

I am now a past chief and the views, opinions, and comments are mine and mine alone. I do not speak for any department or in any official capacity. Although, they would be smart to listen to me.