Guidance

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Guidance

I don't see any forums dedicated to people who want to be, or "may" want to be firefighters, so hopefully I'm in the right forum.

I joined the Marine Corps. infantry when I was 21 years old and I did 4 years and some change. I'm about to be 26 in a couple weeks.

I am currently in my 5th semester in the pre-dental program at my university and I maintain a 4.0 G.P.A. The reason for mentioning that is that as far as being a dentist I know that I have the ability to be a dentist if I want to...but I always find myself coming back to firefighter forums and reading what everyone has to say....

I hope that what I'm about to say is something that a lot of people think; otherwise maybe I'm just shallow..

but I know exactly how I want my life to be. I want to live in a small town in a decent house where everyone knows me, I want to own a nice truck and a boat so I can fish, a few guns so I can hunt, a couple jet-skis so me and my son's can go on the lake, and a mediocre cabin or lake-house where I can get away for a couple days. Throw in a quad and snowmobile and you've described heaven.

Here is my issue. I want all of those things above but I'm not sure that I will ever be able to do those things on the salary of a firefighter. The problem is, I don't think that I will ever escape the fact that I am patriotic to the core and there is nothing that gives me more satisfaction than making a difference and helping people; along with the fact that I LOVE the excitement and diversity of a job like firefighting.

I know that no-one can give me the exact answer because ultimately I have to decide what my priorities are....