Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dumb Questions

Hey all --
    I'm a long time lurker, first time poster. I tried sorting through everything on here, but just have some basic questions I can't figure out. I graduated paramedic school in May, and got my state card (Ohio) shortly thereafter. I just enrolled in the Ohio Fire Academy, going through their Firefighter I + II class that begins Oct. 11th.

I'm (obviously) looking to make a career out of this. Without sounding too dumb/naive, how's the best way to find a job? The only way I know of to find out if a city is doing a civil service exam is to look at the newspaper every day. Am I missing something? Is there something online I can be checking?

I'm in the Cleveland, OH area, but wouldn't mind relocating. If I'm looking at a pretty big area to get hired in (probably anywhere in OH), how can I find find out when areas are doing exams if I don't get the local newspaper of that area?

Thanks in advance for all the advice I know will be coming! I certainly appreciate it!

If ya'll have tips for fire academy, those would also be appreciated.

--jordan

First and foremost, the most "reliable" source would be using a search engine and search any and every city you can think of. Most of the cities websites will notify if they are currently accepting applications or will be hiring in the near future, such as Spring/Fall. You can also try using a search engine and search fire department hiring. There are quite a few good websites, most of them require a small fee for the whole list of departments otherwise they give a small list for "trial".
    Last edited by EgressOne; 09-27-2010, 10:35 PM. Reason: Spelling

Comment

Originally posted by EgressOne View Post
      There are quite a few good websites, most of them require a small fee for the whole list of departments otherwise they give a small list for "trial".
      Can you give me a hint to one or two of the websites you are talking about?

Comment