aspiring firefighter looking for advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• aspiring firefighter looking for advice

what's up everyone. i'm 24 and i'm currently unemployed. i have my bachelor's degree but i don't have my emt or any fire science classes under my belt. I basically have no experience whatsoever that will help me get in a paid fire department, which is what i want to do. i played hs football and basketball if that helps any haha!

but my situation is a little difficult because i live in hawaii and i don't think the fd here will be testing any time soon and i don't want to wait around for the next test. do you guys have any advice for me on what the best route for someone in my position is to take? i want to get into a paid department ASAP.

should i move to california or any other state and take emt classes and try to take tests whenever they come up? i don't have a lot of money but i'm willing to move so i can be closer to the testing locations. i can't be flying to and from hawaii just to take tests.

or should i just put off the emt cert. for now and spend all of my time testing all around the nation? or should i go back to school for a fire science degree?

i don't know what to do. all i know is i wanna get in a paid department somewhere.

Yo Andrew!! Forget about the fire science degree!! You've done well already by getting a formal education and securing a sheepskin (four year degree)...so drop that idea!! What you need to know is that although getting an EMT cert is great and admirable, you don't need it to start testing. I would consider "and" solutions instead of "or" solutions. In other words, start testing with departments "and" be signing up for an EMT class. You don't need to come to Cali to do that. Check with local community colleges in Hawaii and see which one has EMT classes. Many programs will administer the national registry exam, which should be accepted by most departments.