Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

State Test's & Accepting Certifications?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• State Test's & Accepting Certifications?

I'm not sure if this is the right place for this post, but bare with me please...

I am a Certified Firefighter in Florida and have been since 1999. I also have numerous Fire Science classes (Company Officer, Haz-Mat, Etc...).

My question is, Do other states accept the Certification of Firefighter from Florida or would I have to go through another academy if I moved to a new state? Does it vary state by state?

My wife and I are looking to move within the next year, but I would hate to go through another 3-4 month academy like a newbie since I have been doing this for 12 years....

*tests *bear
    Logic and proportion have fallen sloppy dead.

Comment

I think it would depend on the state and the department. I know of some departments (usually seems to be the larger ones) that will require you to go through the academy again no matter what certifications you have or how long you may have been a firefighter. It borders on ridiculous and being a huge waste of taxpayers dollars. In one extreme example, I had a friend who had been a paid firefighter for 10 years and had already been through the 10 week state fire academy. He got hired at another department just 50 miles away, and they insisted he had to go back through the 10 week state fire academy again. He wanted the job really bad so he did it, but I certainly wouldn't have. Most departments aren't that unreasonable.

Comment

And...........

Here in Maryland, If you come to the Table with National Pro Board Certificates, you're usually in real good shape............
        Never use Force! Get a Bigger Hammer.
        In memory of
        Chief Earle W. Woods, 1912 - 1997
        Asst. Chief John R. Woods Sr. 1937 - 2006

IACOJ Budget Analyst

I Refuse to be a Spectator. If I come to the Game, I'm Playing.