Garland TX career info meeting

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Garland TX career info meeting

For anyone in the DFW area that missed it, Garland FD had a career info meeting last night.

It was really helpful for me since I'm completely new to the whole process of applying and test and such. Anyway, I thought I would share some of the info I gleaned from the meeting:

Garland (and some of the surrounding cities, not including Dallas or Richardson) is a State Civil Service city and has to follow state laws concerning testing/ranking during hiring/etc. This means Dallas and others like it can change the ranking of the candidates based on their likes and dislikes, but Garland is purely based on Civil Service exam score. So the closer to 100% that you get, the higher your ranking is during the hiring process.

There are no qualifications to get hired other than the usual 18 - 35, clean background, etc. Garland pays for all schooling, testing, etc. After you get hired, they will send you to EMT school for 6 weeks, and to Fire academy for 16 weeks (EMT might be longer, I was confused as to the exact length). After that you'll be at the station for at least 6 months before going to paramedic school (everyone MUST be a paramedic in the Garland FD). The recruiter said that it was actually 3 years before he got his Paramedic license.

Also, Garland will pay you to get extra training (like Haz-mat, high angle rescue, etc) and will pay full tuition for Firefighter that wants to get their Fire science degree (don't know if that is only for state colleges though).

Anyway, just thought I would post this and I hope someone finds it useful. You can find more info at their website: http://www.garlandtx.gov/Home/Depart...es_Landing.htm

Thanks for the info Gambit. Did they give any information about the written test? Any good study material, or what company is doing the test? Their website doesn't really seem to have any info regarding the test.

Comment