radios/scanners

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• radios/scanners

hi im jonathan and im new to the site. i have been a jr firefighter/explorer for a couple of months now. i asked my cpt what do i do about radios/scanners. he said that our county does not supply and for me to buy one. im lookin for a portable radio/scanner that will work. if u can give me some radio names or scanner names ide be more than thankful!

Well we can't help you find a radio without knowing what area you are in so we can look up the radio system....

VHF? UHF? 800 Meg? Conventional? Trunked? Digital? P25?
    Originally posted by ThNozzleMan
    Why? Because we are firemen. We are decent human beings. We would be compelled by the overwhelming impulse to save an innocent child from a tragic, painful death because in the end, we are MEN.

I A C O J
    FTM-PTB

Honorary Disclaimer: While I am a manufacturer representative, I am not here to sell my product. Any advice or knowledge shared is for informational purposes only. I do not use Firehouse.Com for promotional purposes.

Comment

Would that information be readily available? I would be interested in one also.

Comment

Well............

It all depends on what you need,

how many channels, capabilities, fire tones outs, batt tones out options, Quik Call II, DTMF, MDC-1200, trunking and many other things that apply. You may want to join Radioreference.com and ask the question.

If you need to know a general radio you could, i would need to know your freqs, how many channels, and other needs like fire tones out, etc. It could be a motorola, kenwood, icom, or many others. I would personally recommend Motorola, but thats my choice. Thier customer is not that great, but the quality is very very good.

Here is a sample of what they have.
        http://www.motorola.com/governmentan..._803i/id_1388i

It is a great site for radio communications, and many people there are firefighters / police officers.

Comment