Union to non-union

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Union to non-union

I work as a career firefighter on a non-union department. We have looked into joining the IAFF and one of my colleagues asked me if any IAFF departments have ever reverted back to being a non-union department. Does anyone know of any, and if so why they reverted back. Thanks.

Why would you want to?
    "Loyalty Above all Else. Except Honor."

Comment

I gotta hear the answer to this one...
      Member IACOJ - Building crust and full of lust...

"It's okay to to scared, just don't be chicken." - Clark

Comment

Actually it occurs more often then you think. It happens for many different reasons. If you look at some of the new locals listed, they have their old numbers. Our local was affiliated in 1979 was SQUASHED by the "man" by 1980 and we re-affliated in 2000. We have our original local number.
        IAFF-IACOJ PROUD

Comment

The Boston firefighters were forced out of the IAFF after the Boston Police Strike of 1919 and union activity in public safety was banned by law. If I recall correectly, they had a really low local number (in the 1 to 2 digit range.) They reaffliated and became Local 718.
          ‎"The education of a firefighter and the continued education of a firefighter is what makes "real" firefighters. Continuous skill development is the core of progressive firefighting. We learn by doing and doing it again and again, both on the training ground and the fireground."
          Lt. Ray McCormack, FDNY

Comment

In 1976 we were going to go union. Then alot of guys lost there job. We dont talk about it anymore. Some guys here want it, some dont care. Dont really see any reason to be IAFF.

Comment

Originally posted by CaptainGonzo View Post