Would Appreciate Some Advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Would Appreciate Some Advice

Gentlemen I am new to Forums and this posting thing so I Hope I dont screw up to bad.

First of all I am a 21 year old Firefighter I have been in the Fire Service since before I graduated High School. I am FFII Certified. I am 3/4 of the way towards a Fire Science Degree. What I am Seeking advice on is. The other day I meet with our Fire Chief and told him I would like to advance my career and start attending Instructor classes finish those and start Officer Classes, his response to me was you are only 21 years old and have been on the job for only 3 years, you need to wait until you are about 30 before you start considering any of these things (be a fire fighter first worry about these things later) He told me that If I wanted to go it would be on my own dime he wouldn't pay. So I spoke with my LT. and CAPT. and they encouaged me to go on my own dime they said if would show chief how bad I wanted it. My dept. is 35-member split 10-full time 25- part-time. I am only part time but want to be career. I think it might help me getting hired in the future.

So my question is would you pay for you own way? (travel,cost of class,room and board)

It depends on how badly I wanted it. It does send a strong message to the fire chief if you choose to go. It is important that if you become an instructor, bring the information back to the department.

For example:
    If you become a WMD instructor, implement a WMD training program. Once the chief sees the benefit to the department yo may find that you get sent for additional training.

Age doesn't mean anything. It's maturity and credibility that are important.

Lastly, becoming an instructor makes you a more marketable entry-level candidate.

Good luck and don't loose your enthusiasm for the job!
    Paul Lepore
    Battalion Chief
    www.aspiringfirefighters.com

Comment